For further information or advice please Email the Webmaster

This is a non profit 
site. Any infringement 
of copyright or 
intellectual property, 
is unintentional.

Most covers can be 
displayed as a 
larger image, 
in a new window, 
by clicking on 
the image.

Hosting at

Updated: 07/10/2009

First Premiership 1997

1997 saw the Crows win their first Premiership after only seven seasons in the AFL. They defeated the more fancied St Kilda who wilted under the pressure of carrying the hopes of all Victoria. It was the third time in five seasons that the AFL Premiership Cup headed west with the Eagles having won in 1993 and 1995. The final scores were Adelaide 19.11.125 to St Kilda 13.16.94.

Australia Post released a special postmark (PM 2055) and overprinted "Aboriginal Art" PSE to commemorate the historic win. 50,000 were cancelled.

1997 Adelaide Crows Premiership PSE

Two private covers (50 sets) were also released to commemorate the win. Cover 1 is shown below. Cover 2.

1997 Adelaide Premiership Cover

Two 1996 AFL Centenay covers overprinted with all the Premiership Winners since 1897 were later overprinted with the Crow's 1997 Premiership Details.

The Norm Smith Medallist for best on the Ground went to aboriginal player Andrew Mcleod. He also won the club championship.

His win was commemorated by two private covers, one with the Adelaide Premiership PM (PM 2005) (50 produced) and the other with the MCG Commemorative APM23600 (50 produced) This is shown below. Cover 2.

1997 Norm Smith Medalist Andrew Mcleod

Three covers for "Premiership Heroes" Andrew McLeod, Darren Jarman and Mark Bickley were also released.

Six Bird PSEs postmarked with the Premiership postmark were released with cachets showing the Cup Presentation, Norm Smith Medalist Andrew McLeod, Tony Modra, Shaun Rehn, Darren Jarman and Matthew Robran.