For further information or advice please Email the Webmaster

This is a non commercial site. Any infringement 
of copyright or 
intellectual property, 
is unintentional.

Most covers can be 
displayed as a 
larger image, 
in a new window, 
by clicking on 
the image.

Last Updated 
14th December 2005

Hosting at

Updated: 20/12/2008

What's New

With the rescinding of the controversial Rule 42 by the GAA in April 2005, it meant that other sports, such as soccer and rugby, could be played at Croke Park. On the 20th August 2007 AN Post released 2 stamps and miniature sheets. The 78c showed a lineout against England at Croke Park in February 2007 and the 55c shows a close up of Paul O'Connell.
Centenary Death of Michael Davitt & Michael Cusack
AN Post has announced that two stamps to commemorate the Centenaries of the Deaths of Michael Davitt and Michael Cusack will be issued on the 5th September 2006 and 23rd August 2006 respectively.
International Rules
In a change of tactics Australia choose a team of smaller mobile players, not bases on the All Australian Team. It proved to be a coaching triumph with Australia winning both games by a record 36pts at Subiaco and 21 pts at Telstra Dome.
First Class Collectables released a Commemorative Cover of Andrew McLeod  and of the Team.
Centenary of the Death of Archbishop Croke
Archbishop Croke was born in Cork in 1824, ordained in 1846 and became president of St Colman's College, Fermoy in 1858. After four years as Bishop of Auckland, he was promoted to Archbishop of Cashel in 1875. Publicly associated with land agitation and other forms of nationalism he was a major influence on Irish social and political life. Along with Parnell and Davitt he was the first Patron of the Gaelic Athletic Association in 1984. The GAA home ground was named in his honour.

On 17th September 2002 AN Post issued the stamp shown at left to commemorate his death in 1902. It was issued as a Sheetlet of 16 and as a FDC.

AN Post/ GAA Hall of Fame
For the second year AN Post issued a set of four stamps to commemorate the induction of four GAA players into the Hall of Fame. They included two football players, Matt Connor  from the Offaly team and Peter McDermott from Meath.

On 17th September 2002 AN Post issued the four stamps as a sheetlet of 16 and as a FDC.