For further information or advice please Email the Webmaster

This is a non profit 
site. Any infringement 
of copyright or 
intellectual property, 
is unintentional.

Most covers can be 
displayed as a 
larger image, 
in a new window, 
by clicking on 
the image.

Hosting at

Updated: 07/10/2009

Adelaide Crows

The Adelaide Crows Football Club was established in 1990 after a failed attempt by Port Adelaide to join the AFL. It was a composite club under the control of the SANFL. 

It had immediate financial success having no difficulty in selling out its home ground, Football Park, with membership tickets. The AFL had to restrict the ticket sales so as some opposition supporters could attend the home games.

The Crows 1996 AFL Centenary stamp is shown above on the left and the front cover of the Peel and stick booklet on the right. The Crows chose Shaun Rehn on the inside of the  Booklet and Tony Modra on their Postcard and maximum card.

1996 Adelaide AFL Centenary Cover

The Football Park postmark (PMP 565) was used on the AFL Centenary Cover with the Adelaide Crows stamp on the first day of issue, 23rd April 1996. It was also used on a AFL Centenary cover of Andrew Jarman.

1997 saw the long awaited Showdown with their new co-tenants, Port Power, at  Football park. These have continued as mini-premierships bringing Adelaide to a standstill.

1997 was also  the start of a dream run for the Crows.  It won its first Grand Final after having to win four consecutive games in the finals, a feat never before accomplished. It particularly has had difficulty winning away from Football Park but won both the preliminary and grand final at the MCG.

In 1998 they had continued success, sneaking into their second Grand Final against North Melbourne after loosing a final and then winning from fifth position, a feat never before accomplished. 1999 was disappointing with the Crows finishing outside the eight. It saw the resignation of Malcolm Blight despite winning two premierships.

The 2000 season was again disappointing with the Crows again finishing out of the eight. The season was marked with the release of club and individual 2000 Personalised Stamps.

On the 15th July 2000 the Crows held their grand function to announce their Team of the Decade. This was marked by the release of a special cover and individual covers for the members of the Team.

The 2001 season started slowly with Crows out of the eight. The season was marked with the release of club 2001 Personalised Stamps. They managed to sneak into the finals in eighth spot but were unable to progress any further.

2002 brought improvement with the Crows well entrenched in the eight. The mid season was marked with the release of the club 2002 Personalised Stamps. They finished third after the home and away season but lost their preliminary final to Collingwood.

The Adelaide Crows won the 2003 preseason Competition with a 31 point win over 2002 Grand Finalists Collingwood. Andrew McLeod won the Michael Tuck Medal for best player and the game saw the return of Wayne Carey. The Captain and Coach, Riciutto & Ayres received the trophy.

On the 30th March 2003 the Adelaide Crow's  Centre Half Back, Ben Hart, played his 250th game. First Class Collectibles released a cover  to commemorate the event. The Annual Premiership Players Club P stamp Sheet of 20 players was released on the 26th March 2003 and Shaun Rehn was a featured player.

In April 2003 the 2003 Personalised Stamps were released.

The mid point of the season saw the Crows sitting comfortably in the eight. By the seasons end they had disappointingly bowered out by loosing to eventual premiers, the Lions, in the semi-finals.

There season was highlighted by Mark Riciutto ending in a three way tie for the Brownlow Medal with Collingwood captain Nathan Buckley and Sydney ruckman Adam Goodes  at a gala Ceremony on 22nd September 2003. He also won All Australian selection.

2004 started with the Crows looking to make the eight. In mid April the 2004 Personalised Stamps were released. This year they were a booklet of 20 stamps showing 10 players, rather than the A4 sheet. After seven successive loses, Adelaide defeated Port by 37 points in Showdown XV played at AAMI Stadium on the 8th May 2004. The game also marked Andrew McLeod's 200th AFL Game. 3 weeks later Mark Ricciuto played his 250th game.

Nigel Smart Retires Cover

On the 12th June 2004 at Subiaco Wayne Carey played his last game for the Crows in a season hampered by injury. On the 21st June 2004 at AAMI Stadium after 278 games, Nigel Smart, the last original Crow retired. The Crows finished 12th while Mark Riccutio  was named Captain of the All Australian Team.

On the 1st April 2005 the Adelaide Crows booklet of the 2005 Personalised Stamps was released. The Indigenous Team Of the Century was named at a lavish function at the Palladium on the 1st August 2005. First Class Collectables produced a set of covers. Signed player covers included  Andrew McLeod. First Class Collectables issued covers  to commemorate the Best and Fairest winner Simon Goodwin.

On the 20th March 2006 the Adelaide Crows booklet of the 2006 Personalised Stamps was released. Onlycovers released The Captains series with a cover including Mark Ricciuto. On the 22nd June 2006 the AFL Hall of Fame elevated Darrel Baldock to Legend Status. Round 16 was the Heritage Round with clubs wearing jumpers from a previous era. Onlycovers released a cover for each club including the Adelaide FC.

Australia Post issued a prestige Booklet for 2007 Personalised Stamps  They changed from the Prestige Booklet to the Folder format issuing the 2008 Personalised Stamps and 2009 Personalised Stamps. Adelaide made the eight each year but were unable to take the extra step.