For further information or advice please Email the Webmaster

This is a non profit
site. Any infringement
of copyright or
intellectual property,
is unintentional.

Most covers can be
displayed as a
larger image,
in a new window,
by clicking on
the image.

Hosting at

Updated: 24/09/2006


Indigenous Team of the Century

The Qantas Australian Football Indigenous Team of the Century was named on the 3rd August to recognise 100 years of achievement by indigenous players.

The function at the Palladium at Crown in Melbourne was attended by the Prime Minister, the Honourable John Howard, and sought to recognise the period 1904 - 2004, since Joe Johnson became the first indigenous player to debut in the then-VFL with Fitzroy in 1904.

The selection panel comprised AFL Indigenous Foundation Board Member Pat Dodson, prominent AFL fan and media personality Ernie Dingo, former AFL umpire Glenn James, Essendon coach Kevin Sheedy, AFL National Talent Manager Kevin Sheehan, senior journalists Mike Sheahan and Michelangelo Rucci and AFL historian Col Hutchison.

The team was:
Backs Chris Johnson Darryl White Bill Dempsey
Half Backs Gavin Wanganeen Adam Goodes Norm McDonald
Centre Peter Matera Maurice Rioli Michael Long
Half Forwards Nicky Winmar Stephen Michael Syd Jackson
Full Forward Chris Lewis Michael O'Loughlin Jim Krakouer
Followers Graham Farmer (C) Andrew McLeod Barry Cable
Interchange Michael McLean Byron Pickett Michael Graham
David Kantilla Ted Kilmurray Peter Burgoyne
Coach Barry Cable . .
Umpire Glenn James . .

First Class Collectables produced a set of covers to commemorate the event.

Internal Links
Indigenous TOC
External Links
AFL All Australian