For further information or advice please Email the Webmaster

This is a non profit
site. Any infringement
of copyright or
intellectual property,
is unintentional.

Most covers can be
displayed as a
larger image,
in a new window,
by clicking on
the image.

Hosting at

Updated: 18/05/2006

Team of the Century

The Fitzroy team of the Century was presented at a function at the Palladium at Crown on the 3rd May 2001. It was commemorated by release of a cover produced by First Class Collectables. (shown below)

Fitzroy Lions team of th Centenury Cover

Back Line Bill Stephen Fred Hughson Frank Curico
Half Back Line Kevin Murray (c) Paul Roos Gary Pert
Centre Line Wilfred Smallhorn John Murphy Warwick Irwin
Half Forward  Line Owen Abrahams Bernie Quinlan Gary Wilson (vc)
Forward Line Allan Ruthven Jack Moriarty Norm Brown
Followers Alan Gale Norm Johnstone Haydn Bunton
Interchange Michael Conlan Alaistar Lynch Harvey Merrigan
Richard Osborne Percy Parratt Percy Trotter
Coach Len Smith
The team only included one current player, Alaistar Lynch, who now plays with the merged club, the Brisbane Lions. A lot of the players played in the first half of the century when Fitzroy won its eight premierships, the last in 1944.